

Minutes of Wollondilly Floodplain Risk Management Committee

Monday 26 November 2018 at 2:30pm View Room, Wollondilly Shire Council Library

The meeting was chaired by Mike Nelson, Wollondilly Shire Council and declared open at 2:45pm.

	Item	7 Tasks /Action/Officer
0	Site Inspection (prior to the meeting)	
	The Meeting was preceded by an optional site inspection of various sites along Stonequarry Creek and Racecourse Creek from 1:00pm that concluded at 2:00pm. Attendance for the site inspection was:	
	Norman Dent – Community Member Leonie Gray - Community Member Geoff O'Brien – Community Member Kaustubh Chaubal - Community Member Trent Noonan - Community Member Erin Askew – WMAwater Catherine Goonan - WMAwater Wafaa Wasif – OEH	
	Ngarie McCarthy - SES Ian Berthon – Wollondilly Shire Council Damion Stirling – Wollondilly Shire Council Bruce Davenport - Wollondilly Shire Council	
1	Acknowledgement of Country	
	Acknowledgement of Country was undertaken out by Mike Nelson	
2	Disclosure of Interest	
	No declarations of interest were made	
3	Attendance and Apologies	
	Attendance:	
	Norman Dent – Community Member Leonie Gray - Community Member Geoff O'Brien – Community Member Kaustubh Chaubal - Community Member Jack Wilton – Community Member Roger Palmer – Community Member Erin Askew – WMAwater Catherine Goonan WMAwater Wafaa Wasif – OEH Ngarie McCarthy – SES	

	Mike Nelson - Wollondilly Shire Council Ian Berthon – Wollondilly Shire Council Damion Stirling – Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Bruce Davenport - Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Peter Wright – Wollondilly Shire Council Mark Ruddiman - Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Apologies	
	Clr Matthew Deeth Wollondilly Shire Council Clr Robert Khan Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Trent Noonan - Community Member	
	Michael Silm – Community Member	
	Chris Hughes – Community Member Ian Decker Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Alex Stengl Wollondilly Shire Council	
	Carolyn Whitten - Wollondilly Shire Council Valerie Couch SES	
4	Previous Minutes	
	No issues from the previous minutes of 21 May 2018 were declared.	
5	Welcome and Introduction – New Community Representatives	.
-	Mike Nelson welcomed everyone and made particular mention of the two	
	new Community Representatives: Geoff O'Brien and Kaustubh Chaubal.	
6	Stonequarry Creek – Floodplain Risk Management Study a. Update from WMA Water	
	Erin Askew presented to the Committee including:	Presentation will be
	a) A recap of the previous Flood Study Review outcomes	made available in the Committee cloud link
	b) The progress on the new hydrological model (WBNM) with the Australian Rainfall and Runoff 2016 (ARR2016) methods. The model represents the catchment response to rainfall and estimate the quantity of floodwater.	ne nis
	c) The progress on the new hydraulic model (TUFLOW). This mod represents the catchment response to floodwater and how it move through the catchment.	
	 d) Comparing the new model predictions to the actual June 20⁴ event. The new model appears to have good agreement and slight better than the previous Advisian model. 	
	 e) New work on a flood frequency analysis. This looks at the real floo history to predict the size of future floods of different probabilities. 	
	 f) The rating curve for the creek gauge. This plots the water lev against the flow rate to determine flow rates from the observed wat levels. 	er
	 g) Floor levels of existing properties have been collated from surve and estimation methods to be used for flood damage calculations 	
	 h) The plan is to present to the next meeting with a preliminary option assessment and out of that shortlist the ones to be pursued further 	
8	General Business	
-		

9	Workplace Health and Safety	
	No workplace health and safety issues were raised	

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was declared closed at 4.00pm.

Next Meeting Date: to be confirmed – anticipated to be March 2019.