IN2 – Section 355 Management Committees – 2016 Quadrennial Elections

IN2 Section 355 Management Committees – 2016 Quadrennial Elections 236368 TRIM 1723

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- In accordance with the Local Government Act 1993, Council is required to convene public meetings for the purpose of carrying out quadrennial elections for its S355 Management Committees.
- Individual Quadrennial Elections have been held for the six Council S355 Management Committees. One Committee was not able to form due to lack of executive members.
- It is recommended that the remaining five Management Committees and nominating members be appointed for the next four years.

REPORT

Every four years all Council's in NSW are required under Section 355 of the local Government Act 1993 to hold quadrennial elections for its S355 Management Committees.

The quadrennials must be held as public meetings and must occur within three months of the Local Government Elections. At the Quadrennial Meeting of the Management Committee, the committee is disbanded and all positions are declared vacant. Nominations are called for executive and general volunteer committee members to the management committee.

The following six management committees have to date held their quadrennial meetings with the following results:

1. Douglas Park Reserve Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on Tuesday 4th October.

The following members were nominated to the committee:

President:	Christine Towndrow Community Representative
Secretary:	Robert Stewart representing Douglas Park Wilton
	Football Club
Treasurer:	Michelle Stack representing Outfit Outdoor Fitness
Booking Officer:	Mary-Anne Mariotto Community Representative
General Members:	Susan Dowel representing Douglas Park Tennis Club
	Travis Macnamara representing Douglas Park Evangelic
	Church
	Keith Dowel representing Douglas Park Tennis Club
	Max Strassmeir representing Douglas Park Netball Club
	Allison Pickering representing Douglas Park Little
	Athletics Club.
	Travis Macnamara representing Douglas Park Evangelic Church Keith Dowel representing Douglas Park Tennis Club Max Strassmeir representing Douglas Park Netball Club Allison Pickering representing Douglas Park Little



IN2 – Section 355 Management Committees – 2016 Quadrennial Elections

2. Thirlmere Sportsground Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on Monday 10 October 2016.

The following members were nominated to the committee:

President:	Phil Carlyon representing Thirlmere Touch Football
Secretary:	Jeffrey Downing community representative
Treasurer:	Graham Dempsey community representative
Booking Officer:	John Curley community representative
General Members:	Scott Ford representing Thirlmere Tahmoor JRLFC
	Brett Collings representing Thirlmere Touch Football
	Trevor Cochran representing Thirlmere Tahmoor SRLFC.

3. Tahmoor Sportsground Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on Thursday 13 October 2016.

The following members were nominated to the committee:

President:	Robert Anson representing Wollondilly All Breeds Kennel Club
Secretary: Treasurer:	Jenny Mazuran representing Tahmoor Soccer Club Nyralea Moroz representing Wollondilly All Breeds Kennel Club
Booking Officer: General Members:	Joy Rope representing Tahmoor Soccer Club Lou Deshto representing Tahmoor Soccer Club Carol Domsalla representing Wollondilly All Breeds Kennel Club Damian Aiken representing Tahmoor District Cricket Club Vik Makaroff representing Tahmoor District Cricket Club Nicole Hanger representing Wollondilly Little Athletics Bridget Allan representing Wollondilly Netball Association.

4. Victoria Park Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on 14 November 2016.

The following members were nominated to the committee:

President:	Scott Borthwick representing Picton Magpies SRLFC
Secretary &	
Booking Officer:	Beth Nolan community representative
Treasurer:	Karl Klein representing Picton Magpies SRLFC
General Members:	Michael Haynes representing Picton AH&I Society
	Paul Dengate representing Picton Magpies SRLFC.





IN2 – Section 355 Management Committees – 2016 Quadrennial Elections

5. Bargo Sportsground Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on Wednesday 23rd November.

Although this committee has a large number of user groups and general committee members, the positions of Secretary and Treasurer were not able to be filled at the Quadrennial meeting. The Committee were given a further week to find volunteers to fill these positions with none having been forthcoming. Consequently the committee will be dissolved as it cannot function without volunteers to these positions.

6. Wilton Reserve Management Committee held their quadrennial meeting on Thursday 1 December 2016.

The following members were nominated to the committee:

President &	
Booking Officer:	Laurel Quinlan community representative
Secretary:	Bernadette Apps representing Wilton Progress
	Association
Treasurer:	Tony Towndrow representing Wollondilly White Waratahs
	Rugby Union Club
General Members:	Russell Andrews representing Wollondilly Knights
	Australian Football Club
	Chris Witteveen representing Wollondilly Knights
	Australian Football Club
	Dean Ingenhoff representing Wollondilly White Waratahs
	Rugby Union Club
	Dan Fenning representing Wollondilly Redbacks Junior
	Australian Football Club.

CONSULTATION

Prior to and following the Council elections on 10 September 2016, all six of the management committees were consulted with in respect of the requirement for all committees to be disbanded and reformed under the new Council.

Each Committee provided a suitable meeting date for their respective meetings to be held. Each meeting was advertised in the Bush Telegraph inviting sporting and community members to attend the Quadrennial Meeting if they had an interest in volunteering to the management committee.

All Committees were encouraged and supported in promoting the quadrennial elections at their respective facilities and within their towns.

155



IN2 – Section 355 Management Committees – 2016 Quadrennial Elections

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

All Management Committees of Council are responsible for the bookings and hiring of their respective facilities as set out in the Procedures Manual for Council S355 Management Committees.

Fees and charges collected for the hire of facilities are retained by the Committees and expended directly on the facility. Expenditure is in consultation with Council and is generally on minor maintenance or small capital improvements.

Should bookings and hiring of facilities become the direct responsibility of Council staff, income generated will not necessarily be allocated towards that specific facility but instead be directed into Council's overall maintenance budget.

RECOMMENDATION

- 1. That the following Section 355 Management Committees be appointed for the next four years:
 - Douglas Park Sportsground & Community Centre
 - Tahmoor Sportsground
 - Thirlmere Sportsground
 - Victoria Park
 - Wilton Recreation Reserve & Community Centre.
- 2. That all nominating members to the abovementioned committees be appointed for the next four years.
- 3. That Council approve for the Executive Committee to have delegation to appoint any new members to Section 355 Management Committees and accept resignations from existing members for the remainder of the current term and that such appointments and resignations be reported to Council in the Councillor Newsletter.
- 4. That Council acknowledge all retiring Management Committee Members.

